Special Price for Belgium Hockey -from FIH


The Rene Frank Fair Play Trophy was given to Belgium Hockey Association, with Mr. Marc Coudron collecting the Award from Honorary Secretary General Peter Cohen.
This Trophy was created by the FIH to preserve the memory of Mr. René G. Frank who has been respectively Secretary General the FIH from 1950 to 1966 and President from 1966 to 1983. It was presented to the Federation in Brussels in 1984 by the Association Royale Belge de Hockey during the celebrations of the 60th Anniversary of the FIH.

The Trophy is awarded every two years in conjunction with the Congress, to a team or an individual known to have shown the greatest spirit of sportsmanship during a period of two or four years.
Men, Women, Senior and Junior teams as well as individuals may aspire to this Trophy.

Details : 

The Rene Frank Fair Play Trophy was given to Belgium Hockey Association for the exemplary attitude of the players and the team management at the Olympic Games in Beijing during and after the match against Korea.  Belgium lost the match following a series of errors recognized by the TD.


Also the players and the team management accepted without complaint that they were required to play a World Cup Qualifier in Quilmes, ARG 14 – 21 November 2009 and the Champions Challenge I in Salta, ARG 6 – 13 December 2009. Both were important tournaments, played within 10 days of each other, effectively keeping them away from home for more than 6 weeks.




14:45 Gepost door Member of the WBNT | Permalink | Commentaren (0) |  Facebook |

De commentaren zijn gesloten.